Peralta Community College District's Only Student-Run Publication
Peralta Community College District's only student-run publication.

The Citizen

Peralta Community College District's only student-run publication.

The Citizen

Peralta Community College District's only student-run publication.

The Citizen

Abigail McMurry, Acting President of Associated Students of Laney College, spoke against last-minute class cancellations at the May 14 Board of Trustees meeting.
Class cancellations, basic needs, and 'flying pigs' at 5/14 meeting for PCCD Trustees
Ian Waters, News Editor • June 1, 2024
Student Trustee Natasha Masand believes her voice has the power to impact the PCCD community.
Student Trustee Natasha Masand finds her voice
Isabelly Sabô Barbosa, Social Media Editor • March 19, 2024
Melanie Dixon appointed CoA President
Melanie Dixon appointed CoA President
After two years of acting appointments, the College of Alameda will finally fill the presidency with a permanent hire this summer
Ivan Saravia, Staff Writer • May 23, 2024
College of Alameda jazz professor Glen Pearson demonstrates his musical talent on his classroom piano. Hes one of the newest members of the Count Basie Orchestra, a historic 18-piece jazz ensemble that took home a Grammy this year.
The humble Grammy-winning pianist leading CoA’s music program
Desmond Meagley, Staff Writer • March 4, 2024

    And the Spring Sports Award winners are . . .

    Kaleo Johnson

    2015 Spring Sports Awards


    MVP — Kaleo Johnson
    Pitcher of the Year — Cody Kellar
    Most Inspirational — Moises Lopez
    Eagle Award — Marciano Reichel
    Sophomore Plaques — Marcos Valencia, Cody Kellar, Samuel Sutton, Matt Cobley, Zack Petray, Eli Alcantar, Ryan Silva
    All-Bay Valley Conference First Team — Kaleo Johnson
    Honorable Mention — Brandon Alcala, Trevor Greenley, Eli Acantar

    Luisa Delos Reyes


    Defensive MVP — Luisa Delos Reyes
    Most Improved — Layla Stebbins, Jamika Wilson
    Chairwoman of the Boards — Emani Gardener
    Defensive ‘Hard Hat’ — Oriana Johnson
    Sophomore plaques — Luisa Delos Reyes, Emani Gardener, Robnesha Brigham, Briana Howard, Oriana Johnson
    All-Bay Valley Conference — Luisa Delos Reyes, Emani Gardener, Robnesha Brigham

    Julia Roriz


    Bay Valley Coaches of the Year — Sarah Stretch/Beth Flynn
    MVP — Julia Roriz
    Most Improved — Jade Le
    Coaches Award — Sophia Preach
    Sophomore Plaques — Julia Roriz, Caylan Rodriguez

    Kortni Smyers-Jones

    Track and Field

    MVP (track events) — Kortni Smyers-Jones
    MVP (field events) — Tricia Stewart
    Most Inspirational — Kortni Smyers-Jones
    Most Improved — Stantasia Dossman-Bishop
    Sophomore Plaques — Asheley Bamberg, Stantasia Dossman-Bishop, Lorryn Dozier, Innana Felicity, Victoria Johnson, Kortni Smyers-Jones, Tricia Stewart

    About the Contributor
    In the fall of 2019, The Laney Tower rebranded as The Citizen and launched a new website. These stories were ported over from the old Laney Tower website, but byline metadata was lost in the port. However, many of these stories credit the authors in the text of the story. Some articles may also suffer from formatting issues. Future archival efforts may fix these issues.  
    Leave a Comment
    Donate to The Citizen
    Our Goal

    Comments (0)

    All Sort: Newest

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *