Peralta Community College District's Only Student-Run Publication
Peralta Community College District's only student-run publication.

The Citizen

Peralta Community College District's only student-run publication.

The Citizen

Peralta Community College District's only student-run publication.

The Citizen

Laney College Baseball held a naming ceremony April 26 for its stadium, now called the Tom Pearse Diamond. The name change was approved by the Peralta Board of Trustees at its April 23 meeting. (Photo: Marcus Creel/PCCD)
Laney names baseball stadium, FabLab to relocate and more at 4/23 meeting for PCCD trustees
Eliot Faine, Staff Writer • May 15, 2024
Student Trustee Natasha Masand believes her voice has the power to impact the PCCD community.
Student Trustee Natasha Masand finds her voice
Isabelly Sabô Barbosa, Social Media Editor • March 19, 2024
The search for a permanent president of the College of Alameda is down to three candidates. William “Terry” Brown (left), Melanie Dixon (middle), and Rebecca “Becky” Opsata will respond to community questions at public forums on Thursday. (Photo courtesy: PCCD)
Finalists for CoA President unveiled
Community questions accepted until midnight tonight
Desmond Meagley, Staff Writer • May 13, 2024
College of Alameda jazz professor Glen Pearson demonstrates his musical talent on his classroom piano. Hes one of the newest members of the Count Basie Orchestra, a historic 18-piece jazz ensemble that took home a Grammy this year.
The humble Grammy-winning pianist leading CoA’s music program
Desmond Meagley, Staff Writer • March 4, 2024

    Laney students win Gene Haas Scholarship awards

    The Haas Technical Education Centers Network (HTECN) has awarded 34 Laney College students scholarship awards of up to $2,000 for the 2016–2017 school year.

    The students are all enrolled in Laney’s Machine Technology department courses, and have collectively earned $27,000.

    At Laney College, HTECN has supported students with $127,000 in scholarship money. Nationwide, the network has granted students more than four million dollars in scholarship awards — for the 2016–2017 school year alone.

    Haas is the largest American manufacturer of machine tools, and this is the fourth year that the Gene Haas Scholarship Awards have been awarded nationwide to support the industry and its future leaders.

    Currently, over 1,700 schools and colleges belong to the Haas Technical Education Centers Network.

    $2,000.00 Awards

    Freddie Kao

    $1,000.00 Awards

    Gavin Housh 
    Adam March 
    Khaled Cherik 
    Nick Nishio 
    Grant Schofield 
    Erik Woldseth 
    Cooper Murray 
    Gouzhu Guan 
    Vu Tran 
    Omar Perez 
    Jonathan Giffard 
    Cody Mazza 
    Tim Wong 
    Marcos Ybarra 
    Kevin Criste 
    Aaron Waldon 
    Sam Pagliero

    $500.00 Awards

    Lenora Warkentin 
    Arezki Yaddaden 
    Karim Ghedamsi 
    Desiderio Matias 
    Daniel Crew 
    David Abercrombie 
    Matt Shear 
    Morgan Ress 
    Adam Schwarz 
    Miguel Vega 
    Arturo Torres 
    Julian Valdez 
    Wenyi Zheng 
    Scott Bartholomew 
    Nicasio Nakamine 
    Andrew Heinen

    About the Contributor
    In the fall of 2019, The Laney Tower rebranded as The Citizen and launched a new website. These stories were ported over from the old Laney Tower website, but byline metadata was lost in the port. However, many of these stories credit the authors in the text of the story. Some articles may also suffer from formatting issues. Future archival efforts may fix these issues.  
    Leave a Comment
    Donate to The Citizen
    Our Goal

    Comments (0)

    All Sort: Newest

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *